Taper illness

Sneeze

Thanks for sharing that. (Photo: Wikimedia Commons / James Gathany)

Just because you’re maranoid, it doesn’t mean the world is not out to get you during your marathon taper.

With only nine days to go to the Tralee Marathon, I’m sick. I have whatever version of the cold bug is pinging around Dublin these days.

The day before yesterday I could feel myself a little drained and slightly light-headed. I made for the paracetamol and liquids, but in vain. Yesterday morning, when I woke up to get ready for another day down the coalmine, my head was reeling, my throat was rasping and I hadn’t an ounce of strength in my body.

There would be no coalmining yesterday – nothing of anything except medicine, fluids and bed-rest, interrupted only by the necessity to get up and watch the previous night’s recording of Match of the Day.

I feel a bit better today. I made it back to work, for one thing, and got from nine to five without falling into a heap. It’s the weekend now, so I’ll rest up and focus on getting back to full health. My main concern is to make sure I don’t get a chest infection – after previous marathons I’ve been susceptible to bronchitis, and getting another blast of it now would put an end to my hopes of running in a marathon next weekend.

Of course, it’s frustrating to be sick and unable to run so close to my marathon. But the enforced rest might be a blessing in disguise – I’ll be able to catch up on my sleep and avoid the risk of overtraining. A few days without running won’t cost me my fitness, especially since my substantive training is already done.

By the end of this weekend I hope to be fully recovered and back on my feet again. Otherwise I shall wreak my vengeance by hopping from rush-hour bus to train and spluttering on every commuter in Dublin.

This entry was posted in Marathon, Training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Taper illness

  1. Niamh Abeyta says:

    Hi Aidan! Sorry to hear you are sick! I wish you a very speedy recovery. Make yourself fresh ginger tea (stronger the better). I swear by it. Grate fresh ginger (I use a lot), juice of a lemon/lime (I prefer lime), a cinnamon stick into a teapot of cold water, bring to the boil, and simmer gently for about 5 mins or more. Pour into cup, add a spoonful of honey, and you have a great cold/flu buster. Great for sore throats too. I drink it every day now. It will speed up your recovery. Best of luck 🙂

  2. Jim Brennan says:

    Sometime sickness is a blessing in disguise, forcing you to rest when you otherwise wouldn’t. If you’re not looking to place, you might line up more rested than planned and surprise yourself.

  3. runner500 says:

    Don’t panic! You’ve got a week to get better, and you would probably have tried to do too much this week anyway. My marathon PB came off a week when industrial strength Lemsip was the beverage of choice – you’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

