Starter for 10 kilometres

Another difficulty for my next 10k (Photo: gray_um via photopin) cc

Oh great. Kangaroos on the 10k course (Photo: gray_um via photopin cc)

I’ve been so preoccupied with my recent injury and current illness that I forgot about my next races, coming up very soon.

Fortunately, both races are short – and both are 10k races in the Phoenix Park in Dublin. I’m entered for the Fit Magazine City Series 10k on 9 March and the Great Ireland Run on 6 April.

What’s more, these will be my first ever 10k races.

Training for them isn’t a serious prospect at the moment. It’ll be another week at least before my chest infection clears up and clears off, and I don’t want to start back running until I’m 100% wheeze-free. The last thing I need is to get sick again. Once I’m back on my feet I’ll be hastening slowly and cautiously – no chance of speed work or long runs right away.

And to be honest, even the idea of a race right now makes me feel tired.

Still, looking at the course maps for both events gives me the slightest hint of race buzz and battle fever. The Fit Magazine race seems to have the same course as the Aware Christmas Run I did last December – two laps of the 5-kilometre Phoenix Park loop by the Ordnance Survey and the Lower Glen side, with the finish on the Furze Road.

The Great Ireland Run also finishes on the Furze Road, after a much larger loop around much of the park.

I love races in the Phoenix Park. The course is scenic and challenging, and the vibe is always good. I couldn’t have picked a better place for two races to look forward to while I’m sick.

Also, even if I’m not in top form for the first event, all I have to do is finish and I’ll have a personal best time for my first ever 10k. Then I’ll be fit enough to train well ahead of the second 10k and hopefully set a new PB.

I’m exhausted just thinking about it!

This entry was posted in 10 mile and 10k, Dublin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Starter for 10 kilometres

  1. Sam says:

    At least there is a light at the end of the tunnel. You should be on top form soon enough. I am doing the Great Ireland run as well, looking forward to my first run in Phoenix Park!

  2. Maybe by the time the races come around you’ll feel better and be 100% injury free. You still have almost a month, and you don’t need much tapering for a 10K.
    I try not to think of races too much in advance (I’m not saying I succeed in doing this..) otherwise I find reasons to get stress, better just get there and run as well as I can (whatever that may mean in relation to shape/injury/health/etc), there’ll always be a next time.

    • Run and Jump says:

      I think I’m the opposite to you – I need to think of a race in advance. I can only motivate myself if I have a concrete goal, and I enjoy the buzz of preparing for a race.

  3. WalkToRio says:

    I hope you are fully recovered on time to get ready for those races.

  4. mia79gbr says:

    Get well soon! And even if you don’t feel you gave it 100% it will still be a PB if it’s first time at the distance!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

