Happy Christmas Day running!

Carb-loading after your long run is a thing too. Ahem. (Photo: Wikimedia Commons/SMC)

Carb-loading after your long run is a thing too. Ahem. (Photo: Wikimedia Commons/SMC)

No doubt you’ll be sickened to learn that I got exactly what I wanted this Christmas morning.

Yes indeed – I got sunny, frosty weather and a brilliant Christmas morning long run!

I’d been looking forward to my Christmas morning run for weeks. However, the recent stormy weather threatened to turn it into a real sufferfest. The blustery conditions have persisted since the start of December, and after yet another wind-tunnel run yesterday I was getting a bit fed up with it.

But like some little Christmas miracle, this morning brought blue skies, crisp air and calm conditions. I was ready to rock, baby!

I ran 12 miles this morning – my longest run and first double-digit mileage since the Dublin Marathon at the end of October. Without being too conscious of time or pace, I covered the distance in an hour and 45 minutes, which reassures me that my basic fitness is good even when not training for a specific race.

My ancestral homeland of Tralee, Co. Kerry, Ireland, The World is experiencing something of a running boom these days. There are some great running routes here; this morning I went up by the local third-level college and then along a new bypass that has a tarmac path for pedestrians and cyclists all the way alongside it. With no street lights there you couldn’t run it in the evenings, but otherwise you can build up a great head of steam for a couple of miles of uninterrupted tarmac that’s easier on the joints than concrete.

After that, I headed out on one of my favourite routes – out to the sea and Blennerville windmill. On a sunny winter’s morning the scenery is spectacular, and somehow invigorating and relaxing at the same time. This is where I run when I want to recharge the batteries.

And coming back in from Blennerville, I saw on the opposite bank of the canal another manifestation of the local running boom – a group out training for the Tralee Marathon on 16 March. The organisers have started up training groups for runners of all levels, plus a full calendar of shorter races throughout the year, all designed to create and maintain interest. Fair play to them.

(Of course, this morning I put on my game face and took down that group! Lucky for them that they were on the other side of the canal – and I’ll let them away with their pretending that they didn’t see or hear me putting manners on their Christmas run.)

So that’s the Christmas morning run done – a resounding success. Now for Christmas dinner, a few glasses of wine, and plenty more junk-loading for the rest of the day and night.

Enjoy your Christmas run if you have the opportunity for one, and enjoy the rest of the day.

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Christmas Day running!

  1. mia79gbr says:

    Well done on your Christmas run!! I considered a Christmas run … then greed and laziness got int he way!!

Leave a Reply

