Sick and restless

18th century English doctor in protective beak costume

It’s nothing a few leeches won’t cure.

I haven’t run at all in the past week, and I probably won’t be running in the week ahead.

I have a chest infection – not in the lungs but just in the trachea, which apparently is less serious. Still, I feel like I have a golf ball stuck in my windpipe, and I get wheezy late at night and first thing in the morning, when I’m tired.

After a weekend of hoping it was just a chesty cough, curable by paracetemol and rest, yesterday I went to the doctor, who prescribed me a course of antibiotics and also probiotics. (This means I can now come to an informed and balanced decision on biotics.)

My system was run down after the recent Dublin Marathon, so maybe it’s not a huge surprise that I got ill. That said, I have the impression that people who don’t run marathons also get ill from time to time. Not everyone in the hospital is wearing a marathon finisher’s t-shirt.

So, I’m not going to blame the marathon for making me sick, especially when it contributes so much to making me healthy.

I was already ill before the Dublin Marathon – in the week leading up to it I had a stomach bug and needed my doctor to patch me up in time for the race. Fortunately, the doctor’s husband also runs marathons, so she understood my plight.

Thanks to medical science, then, I recovered in time for the Dublin Marathon and actually clocked a new personal best. Could mild gastroenteritis be a new trick to run faster marathons?

Anyway, I’m still sick now and eager to recover so that I can get running again. These sunny autumn days of blue skies, golden leaves and the lovely bleakness of bare trees are ideal for running. Looking out the window at runners enjoying laps of the park, I shout out for no one to go running if I can’t. In vain, alas – so much for the solidarity of runners.

I haven’t another marathon lined up for the moment. My post-Dublin plan of trying my local parkrun will have to wait a while. What I’m looking forward to most of all are the Christmas holidays, when I usually treat myself to some long, hard runs along my favourite routes at home in Kerry. If I just stay patient and wait until I’m fully recovered, then I’ll be ready for my Christmas runs.

Runners make the worst patients, I’m sure of it.

This entry was posted in Training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick and restless

  1. Cian McDermott says:

    Hi
    Had a great run in Marysville Australia at the weekend – my first ultra marathon so very happy I finished it!

Leave a Reply

