Practice run on Dublin Marathon course!

Dublin, get ready for us!

Dublin, get ready for us!

Only recently did I realise that since I moved back to Dublin in July I’ve been living near mile 16 of the Dublin Marathon course.

So, as part of my training and mental preparation for the race, now only two weeks away, I decided to run in the last 10 miles of the course this morning.

I already know this end of the course quite well – after all, I’ve run the Dublin Marathon three times before. I’ve also taken plenty of training runs up the Clonskeagh and Roebuck stretch, the so-called Heartbreak Hill of Dublin. But on race day I’ve always found that hilly section to be my undoing – perhaps mentally as much as physically. And the Merrion Road at mile 23 has felt tough too, with nothing to relieve its monotony.

This morning’s run, then, was intended to help me get a mental fix on parts of the course where my mind has struggled in the past.

I set off this morning by running a little bit back up the course, so that I could turn around and run past where I live. The top of our road comes at a crucial part of the race, just before the marker for mile 16 where the course turns from south to east, towards the toughest section of the race and back towards the city-centre finish. Even on my test run this morning I felt such a buzz going past my home, so I’m sure it’ll give me a great lift on race day.

The Templeogue Road, almost a straight half-mile, felt long and monotonous, so I looked for landmarks that would break it up in my mind, such as the end of the Bushy Park wall and then Terenure public library.

Coming out of Rathgar, at mile 17 I missed the turn for Orwell Park, a tree-lined residential street. As I headed back to the turn I saw a group of club runners approaching from Rathgar and seemingly intent on running the marathon course too. Call it competitive instinct or egotism, but for some reason I resolved to finish the course ahead of them.

Mile 18 dips down to the Dropping Well pub at Milltown before rising after the tram viaduct. This brief hill is where I started to fade in my first Dublin Marathon, in 2004. Today I felt a lot better – I passed two other runners and kept the following group around 100 metres behind me.

From Milltown the course swings around the bend at Clonskeagh and down to the bridge over the river Dodder, where the mile 19 marker is. This marks the start of the Dublin Marathon’s Heartbreak Hill – a mile and a half uphill. Today I was determined to ascend it quickly and steadily. I passed another runner and there was no sound behind me – had the group stopped or just fallen silent? I drove on.

As I reached the top of the hill and swung left onto Foster’s Avenue, I was buzzing with satisfaction. This was exactly what I wanted from today’s run: to reinforce positive vibes and images. From here on, you’re running in for home.

Crossing the flyover at UCD, at mile 22, I looked back up the road and saw that group of runners well behind. This gave me another shot of energy. Now I just had to get my head together for the last three miles.

On the Merrion Road I made sure I felt strong in my legs and happy in my head. The junction with Ailesbury Road is probably the only landmark along here to break up the distance to Ballsbridge, so I made a mental note to look for it on race day. At Ballsbridge there’s usually a large and noisy crowd so that will give me another boost as I head for the finish.

The last obstacle on the course is Grand Canal Bridge, at around 24 and a half miles. After this bridge you’re into the city centre and within hearing distance of the finish – but in previous races I’ve found it to be an energy-sapping wall rising into my face. This morning, of course, it was a mere bump in the road. Hold that thought.

Now I was on the run-in to the finish, with just a lap of Trinity College to go. Even on a Sunday morning College Green was busy with tourists, so I had a bit of dodging and weaving to do. But I emerged unscathed. Now I would just turn onto Nassau Street, pass the 26-mile marker and kick for home.

Well, there were still people along Nassau Street too, waiting for buses or heading into Trinity, so I couldn’t run flat out to practice my grandstand finish. But branching off to Clare Street, you’ll see the finish line on Merrion Square, and even this morning I got a shot of adrenaline running up there. I ran strongly to where I figured the line would be, and completed my run with a great sense of triumph.

About a minute later, that group of runners ran in for their virtual finish, giving themselves a cheer without realising that I had beaten them soundly in this Dublin Marathon dress rehearsal.

Out of habit I walked around the square in the same direction as when I’ll have finished the race and collected my medal and goodie bag. To think that in two weeks this square will be alive with runners! Having brought some paper money folded up securely in my pocket, I made up my own goodie bag this morning by popping into a shop nearby and getting a Mars bar and a bottle of Lucozade (goodie bag items from my races in the Phoenix Park this summer) and the Sunday papers. Then I got a taxi home.

I got a great kick out of running the last 10 miles of the marathon course this morning. On race day I’ll be aiming to run faster for longer, but now I have a huge psychological boost from such an enjoyable run, replete with positive images.

Most importantly, it left me raring to go for race day. Bring on the Dublin Marathon!

This entry was posted in Dublin, Marathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Practice run on Dublin Marathon course!

  1. Red Hen says:

    Very best of luck in the next two weeks!

  2. Cian McDermott says:

    Hi,

    Great to hear u are ready to go for Dublin in a few weeks time. Good idea to run in the final section of the race, it was certainly the undoing of me last year! I ran in the Melbourne marathon yesterday in the rain soaked streets. Good event but the atmosphere was nowhere as near as good as Dublin. I suppose rain did not help. The final lap was into the MCG arena so that was super! Anyway thanks for all the hints & tips over the last few months and have a great run in Dublin.

    Cian

    • Run and Jump says:

      Well done on the Melbourne marathon; wasn’t the MCG the Olympic stadium where Ronnie Delany won his gold in 1956?

      Rain is the big consideration for the Dublin marathon, although the weather has been dry the three previous times I’ve done it. But I’ve run in the rain enough times to be used to it by now!

  3. Aidan says:

    Nice rehearsal for sure. Liked the goodie bag touch. Good luck with the taper.

  4. Hi,

    I’m really enjoying reading your run up to the marathon and I hope to run it myself next year but for this year, I’ll be limiting myself to cheering everyone on.

    I was wondering where is the best place to cheer, to help the runners keep going?

    Sara

    • Run and Jump says:

      Thanks Sara – for atmosphere and crowds the best spectator points on the Dublin Marathon course are the church in Phibsborough (around mile 3), Chapelizod bridge (8), Dolphin’s Barn (11), Rathgar cross (16), the Milltown-Clonskeagh junction (18), the top of Roebuck Road hill (20), Ballsbridge (24) and Nassau Street (26). So, the nearest of those to you should do the trick.

      Of those spots, Ballsbridge is the best for encouraging tired runners to keep going, and the crowd has room to spread out too. Along the Merrion Road most runners are starting to feel it in their heads.

      I hope it fires you up to run in next year’s marathon!

  5. Dave says:

    Nice report, best of luck on the day, see you out there

Leave a Reply

