How to calculate your race pace

Your 5km personal best divided by the square of the hypotenuse of the marathon route. Simple! (Photo: 401(K) 2013 via photopin cc)

Your 5km personal best divided by the square of the hypotenuse of the marathon route. Simple! (Photo: 401(K) 2013 via photopin cc)

A tip of the hat goes to the redoubtable Gerry Duffy, ultramarathoner and motivational speaker, who tweeted a link to this useful tool for runners of all abilities and goals.

McMillan Running – a new name to me – have posted this free race pace calculator on their website. I’ve seen a few similar tools online but this one is the best I’ve found.

Using this calculator, you can compare your pace from a previous race of any distance with your target pace for your next race.

What’s more, the calculator will also suggest paces for your training at various distances and tempos, from short sprint sessions to long slow runs.

With the Dublin Marathon coming up soon, I filled in my time from last year and target for this year, hit ‘return’ and got engrossed in the results. The weekend after next I’m doing the Frank Duffy 10-miler in Dublin, and the McMillan calculator has given me an interesting indicator of what time I should aim for as a milestone on the way to my marathon goal.

After that I’ll shift my focus on to the Dublin Half Marathon in September – and then we’ll review the situation.

Get calculating!

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How to calculate your race pace

  1. Geb says:

    I love that calculator! I’ve been using it for training paces for the last year or so. Hope it works as well for you as it has for me!

  2. Red Hen says:

    I used McMillan before. I don`t know what the formula is for predicting the distance but it`s a good one. Pity it didn`t factor in injury for slowing up my marathon time, But I`m happy to take it`s prediction of 4.15 as a good indicator of what I was truly capable of!

    • Run and Jump says:

      I hear it even factors in a quick stop along the Dublin Marathon route to take fizzy sweets and Mars bars! I won’t bore you with the algorithm but believe me, it’s impressive.

  3. This is an awesome tool on an awsome web site. I’ve punched in 5K times and it has calculated my marathon times. Looking at my then recent marathon time McMillan was within minutes of my actual time.

Leave a Reply

