The Elvis Presley Marathon Training Diet

Burger and fries

Elvis’ salad has just left the building (Photo: wEnDaLicious via photopin cc)

Oh dear. I’m usually such a healthy eater, but this weekend I fell off the wagon. Out with the pasta and the salad; I went on a day-long junk-food spree before my run last night.

Looking more like Elvis Presley’s Las Vegas backstage rider, this was my food intake over 24 hours:

Saturday
22:00 – pizza and beer

Sunday
10:00 – 2 fried eggs and toast
13:00 – cheeseburger
16:00 – plate of fries and soft drink

And at 20:00 I went for my 6-mile run.

Amazingly, my run was great. After shuffling through the first half-mile, I clicked into something close to my marathon-day race pace. With long stretches of empty tarmac paths along my route, I kept up a strong rhythm and fairly hurtled along. My half-mile warm-down at the end was the satisfied shuffle of a job well done.

So, have I struck upon a magic formula – the Elvis Presley Marathon Training Diet?

Probably not. For one thing, my diet is usually good – plenty of pasta, salad and water – so a rare blow-out like this weekend’s isn’t going to harm me too much. Also, my portions of burger, fries and fizzy drink were quite small.

Still, it’s not something I want to make a habit. After my run I had some salad, just to veer back towards equilibrium. Don’t follow the Elvis diet!

The odd small treat is fine, and sometimes a treat is more enjoyable when it’s seldom and you’ve earned it. Earlier this summer, while we were strolling on the seafront one sunny afternoon, I had a 99 (a whipped ice cream cone with a chocolate flake on top) for the first time in ages. It was delicious. What’s rare is wonderful.

Work hard, run hard, play hard, baby!

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

