Life catches up

I was exhausted and aching. The next morning, I could hardly drag myself out of bed. My legs still felt heavy and I hadn’t an ounce of energy in my body.

That was all after my light 5-mile run last Saturday.

Normally I’d reel off a gentle 5-mile spin without much exertion. But these aren’t normal times.

In the last week I’ve moved apartment, job and country. Any one of these alone is demanding enough, but all three at once is challenging, to say the least. The physical effort and mental stress has left me drained.

What’s more, by now I should really have kicked off my serious Dublin Marathon training. However, I only got two short runs in during both the last week of June and the first week of July.

So, this week I’ve been trying to get back into form, with a view to slipping into my marathon schedule.

Thankfully my months of good training in the first half of this year seem to be standing to me and I haven’t lost too much shape. During this past week I put in a good 9-mile threshold run, bookended by 5-mile recovery runs. And while last Saturday’s light spin was a bit of a suffer-fest, this Saturday I did a hard sprint session on a hot, clammy morning, with no ill-effects. Back in the game, baby!

Life is catching up with my running; the only thing for it is to kick on and outrun it!

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life catches up

  1. Cian McDermott says:

    Just moved to Australia, know how it feels! Need to get back running ASAP!
    Thanks for the blog…

Leave a Reply

