Dublin Marathon 2013 – I’m in!

Dublin Marathon 2013I’ve sat out the 2013 spring marathon season. I watched this year’s Paris Marathon from the streetside and the London Marathon on TV. Everyone else has had their 26 miles of fun, but I’ve had none.

Enough of that. I’ve just entered the 2013 Dublin Marathon, which takes place on the Bank Holiday Monday, 28 October.

This year’s race will be my fourth time running the Dublin Marathon. The first, in 2004, was my first marathon and I got around in 3:54:27. Since then I’ve run it in each of the last two years, posting 3:44:29 in 2011 and 3:53:02 last year.

My objective for this year’s race will be the same as for all my marathons – to get around safely and finish in a personal best, which for me will be beating the 3:27:58 I clocked in Paris in 2007. It’s still the only one of my six marathons to date where I’ve gone under 3 hours and 30 minutes.

Serious training will start in July, 16 weeks ahead of the race. Until then I’ll continue my current short, speed-based workouts. That said, I can already start thinking and planning and scheming and visualising and getting excited about my next marathon.

Back in the game, baby!

This entry was posted in Dublin, Marathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dublin Marathon 2013 – I’m in!

  1. Good luck! love Dublin and the marathon there. Was my first and will always be a special one for me! Wont be there this year but maybe next!

  2. Maurengo says:

    Would love to run a marathon. I’m just starting to run now. Maybe in a year or so.

    • Run and Jump says:

      To build up to a marathon you could always try a 5K or 5 mile race this summer and see how you like the experience. You can’t beat the buzz of a race, at any distance or pace. Good luck with your running – enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

